More Anatolian psychedelic folk shenanigans at Djanan Turan’s monthly Hura Nights


After an epic launch at The Library Club in March, Hura Nights returns to the lush Covent Garden venue this Friday. Created and curated by singer-songwriter Djanan Turan, this monthly party is perfect for those seeking to surf on an exotic wave of global beats – everything from disco to reggae, and trancey Anatolian rhythms.

The event came about after Djanan, originally from Turkey but now London-based, saw Hura (Arabic for ‘free woman’) Nights in a dream and took it as a sign to create a new monthly party paying tribute to free expression through live music and DJs with the accent on female artists.

A believer in the liberating power of music, musical chanteuse Djanan enjoys blurring the boundaries between different genres and cultures, and brings the cool sounds of the Anatolian underground to central London.

Her special guest for April is Fari Bradley. The Iranian sound artist, composer and radio broadcaster will be raising the roof from behind the decks with her experimental dance music for the second instalment of Hura Nights.

Fari Bradley

Djanan is also performing with her incredible band: Alice Mary Williamson (the gorgeous clarinet enchantress), Al Maranca (bass & saz), Bubu (drums) and Fatih Ebrem (master of the famed wah wah guitar). The band members collectively draw on their Mediterranean and Middle Eastern roots melded with wider musical influences that are typical of their North London underground jams.

And to top things off, entry to this monthly cultural extravaganza at The Library is free of charge. However, admission into this intimate and exclusive venue is strictly by guest list, so book your place now!

Party details

Title: Hura Nights

Date: Friday 28 April 2017

Event times: 8.30pm to midnight

Venue address:  The Library Club, 112 St. Martin’s Lane, London, WC2N 4BD

Admission: free entry via guest list only

For guestlist: email your name to Confirmation will be needed 24 hours before the club night

Artist info: