North Cyprus reveals coronavirus risk categories for all countries

The government of the Turkish Republic of North Cyprus (TRNC) has confirmed the coronavirus risk category for all countries ahead of re-opening its borders to the world next week.

All visitors have the right to enter North Cyprus from 1 July onwards, according to a Council of Ministers decree at the end of May. There are, however, conditions of entry, which vary according to the risk category the country they are travelling from is in.

There are three coronavirus risk categories: A is low risk, B is medium risk, and C is high risk. The TRNC Health Ministry has been responsible for determining which risk category each country is in. The three lists are loosely based on guidelines issued by the World Health Organisation.

The lists issued by the TRNC Health Ministry show Italy twice: once in Category B, and again in Category C. Bizarrely, there is no listing for South Cyprus although Greece is listed.

Category A entry conditions and countries

Anyone travelling from country listed in Category A must show a negative PCR test no more than 72 hours before entering North Cyprus.

  1. Austria
  2. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  3. Bulgaria
  4. Croatia
  5. Czech Republic
  6. Estonia
  7. Finland
  8. Germany
  9. Greece
  10. Hungary
  11. Iceland
  12. Latvia
  13. Liechtenstein
  14. Lithuania
  15. Luxemburg
  16. Malta
  17. Montenegro
  18. Norway
  19. Slovakia
  20. Slovenia
  21. South Korea
  22. Switzerland

Category B entry conditions and countries

Those travelling from a Category B country must take two PCR tests. The first test must show negative no more than 72 hours before they travel. The second will be taken on arrival in North Cyprus.

The testing points in the TRNC are at three key ports: Ercan Airport, Girne Sea Port, and the Metehan Checkpoint.

Positive test result by using rapid test device for COVID-19, novel coronavirus 2019 found in Wuhan, China. Photo © jarun11/iStock
  1. Australia
  2. Belgium
  3. Canada
  4. Denmark
  5. France
  6. Ireland
  7. Israel
  8. Italy (also in Category C)
  9. Japan
  10. Jordan
  11. Lebanon
  12. Maldives
  13. Netherlands
  14. Poland
  15. Portugal
  16. Romania
  17. Singapore
  18. Spain
  19. Turkey
  20. United Arab Emirates

Category C entry conditions and countries

Category C countries are deemed the highest risk due to their current rates of infection. There is a mandatory 14-day quarantine for anyone entering the TRNC from one of these countries, with a PCR test at the end of this period. There is a further week of self-isolation.

The costs of quarantine and the PCR test must be borne by the traveller, including those holding TRNC citizenship, currently set at 4,400 TL (approximately £510).

  1. Brazil
  2. India
  3. Iran
  4. Italy (also in Category B)
  5. Mexico
  6. Pakistan
  7. Russia
  8. Sweden
  9. United Kingdom
  10. United States of America
  11. All other countries not mentioned above